Live Feeds (alternative notification)

Please report any sort of feature requests or bugs on the tracker instead of the forum! http://tracker.anidb.info

Moderator: AniDB

hardjowikr

Live Feeds (alternative notification)

Post by hardjowikr »

So all of a sudden a feature i would like to see popped in my head and I've been searchin the site to a link where i can add to my feed, but i can't find it. So i checked wiki...no result.

So if it isn't implemented yet then would't a live feed be great? I was thinking a ducplicate function like the "Notification". Every user has his own personal feed. A user can decide if that anime will be listed in their feed. Also function like to "automatically add feed if notifie is on" that will be available in profile.

Since most functions are already available for notification, these feeds can be easily implemented.

I am a web developer for a few years now so if you guys are short on "man power" I can lend a hand :) .
PetriW
AniDB Staff

Post by PetriW »

I remember there being something like this, I'll poke exp later if noone remembers. :)
exp
Site Admin

Post by exp »

so far we only have an rdf/rss feed for file additions but no personalized feeds.

the main reason for that are performance issues. but those could probably be solved. so a feature like this isn't impossible. the question is just whether we are motivated to work on it :P

the general trend is goind towards offering notifications in all kinds of ways anyway. right now we have:
- website
- UDP API
- Jabber IM Server

rss/rdf might be a logical next step. the only drawback is that rss/rdf as an automated pull service tends to create much more requests/accesses than the other methods. that should be easy to handle with some caching though.

BYe!
EXP
hardjowikr

Post by hardjowikr »

Mhhm, your right exp. But RDF/RSS uses less system and nethwork bandwith if i compare it with users like me. :oops:

This is how i handle anidb: