old granted and denied feature requests

Moderator: AniDB

Rar
AniDB Staff

Shadow Files Progress [ONTODO/POSTPONED]

Post by Rar »

An ONTODO request (from Aug 2003!):
http://www.anidb.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=621

I understand this is a big task and is going to require a pretty major reorganizastion of how files and relations are dealt with.

I'm far from a database expert, but thought a bit of thinking through might help exp along the way.

At the moment AniDB is set up like this right:?
Anime-<Episode-<File
Would changing the Ep-File relationship to >-< both ways help things? Or does having half episode files confuse things?

Rar
PetriW
AniDB Staff

Post by PetriW »

Having EP to FILE relations doesn't help at all imho, it would just create redundant data as files already know what EP they belong to.
What's needed is essentially an expanded FILE to EP relation where files can both be flagged as part of a file (aka part 2/3) and belong to multiple episodes. There also needs to be an additional FILE to FILE relation for subtitles and the like.
It's pretty easy to code, it's just a significant change and making it user friendly might also be a problem. The big problem is that while it's a simple change so much has been made already and I imagine it would be difficult to implement in several stages.
Skywalka

Post by Skywalka »

Hmmm...

I do not quite understand how PostreSQL works but wouldn't it be possible to export several Anime to which the shadow file problem applies to a test-AniDB and play around with it there untill it is pretty much working and then make a backup and apply it to AniDB?

I know I am again talking about work others would have to do before I could even touch the test-DB but as always I can only offer my help as a tester so if anything like this is possible I'd try it out molto. ^_^
PetriW
AniDB Staff

Post by PetriW »

I'm certain EXP has some test thing somewhere but like, I don't think that's the problem either. ;)