AniDB CSS - Feedback Thread

Want to help out? Need help accessing the AniDB API? This is the place to ask questions.

Moderator: AniDB

Locked
Kaonashi
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 10:02 pm
Location: Portugal

Post by Kaonashi » Mon Dec 05, 2005 1:26 am

Rar wrote:You turn images off, by any chance? You'll want to use a css file that's aware of that fact. Or just use brown2 instead for the moment.

Rar
I have images turned on. I'll use brown2 as you've said, although I prefer the default look.

User avatar
Rar
AniDB Staff
Posts: 1471
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2004 2:41 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by Rar » Mon Dec 05, 2005 1:35 am

Er... do you mind taking a few screenshots? As the search button for the default style is just a gif, I'm having trouble seeing how the text on it went walkies.

Rar

PetriW
AniDB Staff
Posts: 1522
Joined: Sat May 24, 2003 2:34 pm

Post by PetriW » Mon Dec 05, 2005 9:33 am

elfish wrote:Are we, however, maybe talking about a different <p>? There's no <p> or </p> inside the login <form>. As I understand it (and the spec seems to be stating), you can't put inline elements (which <input> is) inside a <form>, only block elements. To put an <input> inside a <form>, there has to be a block element between them.

Example: <form><input/><input/><input/></form> on its own is not valid, but <form><p><input/><input/><input/></p></form> is.

Thus on the validator's output, there needs to be a <p> on line 36, after "<form action="animedb.pl" method="post">", closed on line 42 after "</form>"

Even if my analysis completely wrong, I still stand by my bug report: that you're using XHTML/Strict implies that you care about valid HTML, and would be interested to know when your HTML doesn't validate. I don't think your hostility was necessary or productive.
When I viewed the source it said something like this
<form><input/><input/><input/></p></form>
in the source shown.

Maybe rar fixed it.

Kaonashi
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 10:02 pm
Location: Portugal

Post by Kaonashi » Mon Dec 05, 2005 2:53 pm

Rar wrote:Er... do you mind taking a few screenshots? As the search button for the default style is just a gif, I'm having trouble seeing how the text on it went walkies.

Rar
The buttons with no caption have the red arrow and are circled in red.
Again, I'm using Camino in Mac OS X 10.3.9.

Image

windmage
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu May 26, 2005 11:49 pm

Post by windmage » Mon Dec 05, 2005 8:42 pm

Nested CSS (include files) makes it take forever to load when hitting reload, since you have to wait for several http transactions rather than just one.. :(

User avatar
DonGato
Posts: 1296
Joined: Sun Nov 17, 2002 9:08 pm
Location: The Pampas, The land of the Gaucho!
Contact:

Post by DonGato » Mon Dec 05, 2005 8:59 pm

Yes, the initial load is really slow now. :(

PetriW
AniDB Staff
Posts: 1522
Joined: Sat May 24, 2003 2:34 pm

Post by PetriW » Mon Dec 05, 2005 9:55 pm

anidb.net has been having problems today...

Anyway, maybe you should change the caching if css files have to be loaded with each page load.

User avatar
Rar
AniDB Staff
Posts: 1471
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2004 2:41 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by Rar » Mon Dec 05, 2005 10:39 pm

The arrangement is tempory, but do you really hit refresh that often? Anyway, what petri said.

Rar

User avatar
DonGato
Posts: 1296
Joined: Sun Nov 17, 2002 9:08 pm
Location: The Pampas, The land of the Gaucho!
Contact:

Post by DonGato » Tue Dec 06, 2005 12:01 am

I don't hit refresh, but anyway the first load of the forum during a browser session takes way more than before. I'm using Firefox 1.5 with default cache settings.

elfish
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 5:56 pm

Post by elfish » Tue Dec 06, 2005 12:20 am

Possibly this is a known issue, but the AniDB masthead at the top used to be a link to the front page.

User avatar
Rar
AniDB Staff
Posts: 1471
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2004 2:41 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by Rar » Tue Dec 06, 2005 12:45 am

I've not touched the forum! The .net server has just been having fun. The sql was down for a bit, but no one seemed to notice anyway. And yeah elfish, that particular misfeature I'm glad to be rid of - use 'main' in nav if you want to go to the top.

Rar

MaJutsu
Posts: 75
Joined: Sat Apr 10, 2004 1:30 pm
Contact:

Post by MaJutsu » Tue Dec 06, 2005 10:32 pm

What about making the Buttons "login" and "signup" the same? (see Kaonashi's Screen) So half/Half its ugly.

User avatar
Rar
AniDB Staff
Posts: 1471
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2004 2:41 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by Rar » Tue Dec 06, 2005 10:42 pm

They are the same, on everything but Mac, it seems. Obviously they love their silly rounded shiny widgets so much they don't want me to override them. Will look into solutions. I'd like to dump html forms really, but that's not an option for the foreseeable future.

Rar

User avatar
ricce
Posts: 199
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 8:42 pm
Location: Sweden / Västrås
Contact:

Post by ricce » Wed Dec 07, 2005 8:47 am

Rar wrote:They are the same, on everything but Mac, it seems. Obviously they love their silly rounded shiny widgets so much they don't want me to override them. Will look into solutions. I'd like to dump html forms really, but that's not an option for the foreseeable future.

Rar
They are wrong for me too, and I'm not on Mac.

My browser is Konqueror (Linux) and I know it has support for changing the look on widgets with css.

MaJutsu
Posts: 75
Joined: Sat Apr 10, 2004 1:30 pm
Contact:

Post by MaJutsu » Wed Dec 07, 2005 1:53 pm

Screenshot of the frontpage on several browsers:
Safari 2.0.2 ___________ Mozilla 1.7.12 ________ Internet Explorer 5.2.3 _ Firefox 1.5 __________ Camino 1.0b1 ________ Opera 8.51
Image Image Image Image Image Image
All on Mac OS X 10.4.3
So it looks like Browser and OS issue

edit: Opera added
Last edited by MaJutsu on Wed Dec 07, 2005 3:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Locked